The 7th Australasian Mental Health Outcomes and Information Conference

Keynote speakers

Dr Barbara Disley

Dr Barbara Disley is Chief Executive of Emerge Aotearoa, a large national mental health, and drug and alcohol NGO. Barbara has worked in a number of non-government organisation Chief Executive roles including the Mental Health Foundation and Richmond Fellowship. Barbara was the inaugural chair of the Mental Health Commission, leading the development of the first Mental Health Blueprint. She was Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Education where she had responsibility for special education.

Barbara was a member of the Confidential Listening and Assistance Service, the forum set up for people who had been abused while in State Care in New Zealand, and chaired the Review of the Sensitive Claims area of ACC, which supports victims of abuse. Over the past year Barbara was a member of the Inquiry Panel set up by the Government to review mental health and addictions. In 2011 Barbara was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to mental health.

Dr Ruth Cunningham

Dr Ruth Cunningham is a public health physician and epidemiologist working in the areas of mental health research, social epidemiology, cancer epidemiology and health services research. The main focus of her current work is mental health epidemiology and the physical health of people with experience of mental health conditions.

Ruth is an active member of the Equally Well collaborative and leads the Electronic data for Mental health research (EleMent) group: Te Raraunga Hinengaro. The group uses routinely collected electronic data from health and other sources to understand the distribution and determinants of mental health and mental distress, with a focus is on making the best use of available information to improve the mental health of New Zealanders. In 2018 Ruth was a contributor to the Government Inquiry into Mental Health and Addiction, leading the production of a background Stocktake report and a data analysis report to inform the Inquiry panel.